DeutschEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the worldEnglishEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the worldEspañolEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the worldFrançaisEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the worldMagyarEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the worldNederlandsEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the world
Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh
Eautarcie EAUTARCIE Eautarcie- Joseph Országh
HomepageIntroductionEcological SanitationRainwater HarvestingGreywater ManagementDry ToiletsEautarcie Challenges WorldwideIntegrated Water and Biomass ManagementReflections on Water PoliciesSite Map - Glossary - FAQs - Downloads EAUTARCIE, Sustainable Water Management for the World
Eautarcie Challenges Worldwide
PLUVALOR in an Urban Setting

ECOSAN in an Urban Setting

EAUTARCIE in Developing Countries

EAUTARCIE in Cold Climate Regions
Search a word within the website eautarcie.org 
Loading

The EAUTARCIE concept is one of the possible forms of ecological sanitation, with a distinct feature: instead of doing an inventory of the problems, it rather goes to the source of these problems and proposes efficient, simple and inexpensive solutions. Its other main feature is its holistic approach, which takes into account various environmental impact issues.

The considerations developed within these pages have not yet been field-tested. The technical proposals have been extrapolated from our experiments and experience on single-home set-ups. Pilot projects are needed to help determine proper sizing of the various system components. Such experiments have, up to now, not been authorized in Belgium.

To see examples of EAUTARCIE homes that are self-sufficient and self-contained in terms of water consumption, click here.

To visualize the general schematic of a PLUVALOR system, click here.

The text within this page was first published in French on www.eautarcie.com: in 2005

The original text has since been adapted and first published in English on this page at www.eautarcie.org: 2009-06-15

Last update : 2016-10-25

THE PLUVALOR System in an Urban Setting

Water Supply

Sustainable water management requires a coordinated use of all available sources of water. In cities where mains water is sometimes of dubious or even poor quality, other solutions can be implemented to provide the population with drinking water of high quality, at least for human consumption. Using rainwater is one option, although not the only one, provided we acknowledge the fact that the water recoverable from city roofs is not insignificant, even if it is too low to cover all household needs.

Need we repeat that in a polluted world where good-quality water is becoming scarce, you need to adapt water quality to its end-uses. We only need potable water for drink (water, coffee, tea, etc.) and food preparation. For non-food uses, we could use safe inoffensive water that is not « potable » in the legal sense, and of which the accidental absorption would not pose a health risk. This new vision on water quality provides a more pragmatic framework for water management, with substantial cost savings.

In order to relinquish the logic of water as a commodity, we deem that water services must be managed by urban municipalities, not by private corporations. Water supply must be considered as a service to the population, without any commercial interests. Tariffs for water must be determined within the context of coherent social and environmental policies. Moreover, taxation of water should cease. Taxing such a basic and vital need is morally questionable as it leads to such perversions as tagging rainwater harvesting as an « uncivic and antisocial practice ».

High-quality drinking water for the poor

The subject of water supply prompts growing concerns about the quality of tap water. Furthermore, the population is growingly reverting to bottled water instead of tap water. This costly solution also has a significant environmental impact. The alternative that is recommended on the EAUTARCIE website is the acquisition of a domestic reverse osmosis system. Nevertheless, beware of profiteering dealers specialized in domestic water conditioning systems. Read the chapter entitled « How to buy a Reverse Osmosis unit ».

Rainwater in cities – an environmental safeguard

Consider a city that is fully equipped with PLUVALOR Systems. The sum capacity of such a city's cisterns (capacity of 160 litres per m² of roof area) represents a storage capacity equivalent to a colossal stormwater basin. Stormwater runoff is controlled and stored instead of being fully discharged into a watercourse via sewers. It is then gradually released with household use. This is an important factor in regulating the soil moisture regime.

The Characteristics of an urban PLUVALOR System

When designing a new apartment building, the roof surface will ideally be separated in as many sectors as there are apartments [1]. Each sector will dispose of its own roof drain and cistern.

[1]
In spite of the potential economy of scale, we strongly advise against the installation of a common collective cistern to service many apartments. Water consumption greatly varies from one household to the next, which represents a source of conflict. When a collective cistern goes dry, the fault will always be attributed to the other cistern users.

The cistern's capacity (in litres) will be calculated by multiplying the roof catchment area (m²) by 160. For example, an apartment that is serviced by a 15 m² roof area will have a cistern of 15 x 160 = 2400 litres, or 2.4 m³.

This cistern will be placed in the basement or buried next to the building. Rainwater collected this way will be pumped by a small well-pump system located in a basement equipment room, with a 25- to 35-micron filter, after which comes a 10-micron filter. Small section pipes would then feed each apartment with safe « inoffensive » filtered rainwater, alongside the traditional mains water supply. The filtered rainwater pipe will be connected to a valve under the kitchen sink, to supply a reverse osmosis system that will provide good quality drinking water via a special tap in the kitchen sink. The other taps would deliver city water. Rainwater that is filtered and purified in this way is comparable to the best bottled mineral water on the market, at a cost of 2 to 3 Euro-cents per litre.

Thus one would use rainwater for food and drink (the water we swallow) while lesser-quality city water would be reserved for other household uses. In cities where mains city water becomes brackish due to grave water supply problems, city water could be regarded simply as safe inoffensive water to be reserved solely for non food needs (you should not even consider nano-filtration [2] as a option.) In such cases, subsidies could be offered towards the installation of individual rainwater filtration set-ups.

[2]
Nano-filtration is a technique used to transform badly polluted water into potable water, usually by the means of salt. The cost of such treated water is about 10 € per m³ (2003). To use such expensive water for toilet flushes is totally unreasonable.

False Objections

I often hear assertions that rainwater harvesting is not really useful within cities because of greater city air pollution and reduced available roof area per inhabitant.

City pollution

In reality, pollution of rainfall depends mainly on the wind regime. Heavily polluted rainfall can occur in areas that have no local industrial or urban pollution. Rainwater quality in cities is not fundamentally worse that elsewhere. In regions close to dust-generating industries, neighbouring domestic rainwater catchment systems tend to accumulate more sludge in their cisterns, which tends to clog the filters more quickly.

In large cities, winter rain and winter snow may have a slightly higher hydrocarbon content due to smoke from oil heating. The water that falls on roofs is also usually more acidic. The presence of sulphur dioxide (SO2) in smoke is conducive to dissolution of zinc (roofs and gutters) into the collected rainwater. This phenomenon is often overplayed by scientists who are directly or indirectly related to the water industry. It is easy to scare the population by raising the spectre of « heavy metals » or « bacteria » in rainwater. This unfortunately delays the onset of a coordinated management of water resources. Thus, the monopoly of drinking water as a commercial commodity is upheld. Such reports do not stand up to an objective scientific analysis. Fortunately, in water tanks, we have so far never measured zinc concentrations that exceed the standards for drinking water. And even if that were eventually the case, the reverse osmosis system that provides drinking water not only removes zinc, but all other undesirable elements, be it from rainwater or mains water.

Reduced available roof area

It is true that the required 30 m² of roof area per capita [3] for whole house rainwater reuse (excluding flush toilets) is rarely attained in cities. However, rainfall captured on city roofs remains a precious and important resource.

[3]
This value is based on an annual rainfall of about 800 to 900 mm. Even when rainwater is used as a water supply for apartments, it is more rational to supply flush toilets with city water, even if it is sometimes hard water.

In fact, a person's daily drinking water requirements rarely exceed 3 to 5 litres. To harvest this quantity, a roof area of 2 to 3 m² is sufficient, with a storage capacity of 300 to 400 litres.

Thus, if an apartment's roof doesn't exceed 3 m2 per person, rainwater is reserved for food and drink. When the roof area is greater, you can go even further in rainwater reuse to obtain water that is naturally mild, for personal hygiene and laundry. This means connecting the hot-water tank, clothes washing machine and even the dishwasher to the rainwater feed, while maintaining the city connection as back-up in case of dry spells.

To continue reading, go to chapter on the SAINECO system in an urban setting.

TOP

Home - Introduction - Ecological Sanitation - Rainwater Harvesting - Greywater Management - Dry Toilets - Challenges Worldwide - Integrated Management - Reflections on Water Policies - Site Map – Glossary – FAQs – Downloads

DeutschEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeEnglishEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeEspañolEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeFrançaisEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeMagyarEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeNederlandsEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le monde
Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh
Eautarcie EAUTARCIE Eautarcie- Joseph Országh
AccueilIntroductionAssainissement EcologiqueValorisation de l'Eau de PluieGestion des eaux grisesToilettes SèchesEautarcie en Ville et dans le Mondegestion Conjointe de l'Eau et de la BiomasseRéflexions sur les politiques de l’eauPlan du site – Lexique – FAQ – Documentation La gestion durable de l'eau dans le monde
Eautarcie en Ville
Système PLUVALOR en ville

SAINECO en ville

Eautarcie dans les pays en voie de développement

Eautarcie dans les climats nordiques

Recherche d'un terme
sur le site eautarcie.org 
Loading

Bien que réduites, les possibilités de l'utilisation du système PLUVALOR en ville sont intéressantes. La quantité d'eau de pluie récupérable y est loin d'être négligeable. Sans nécessairement couvrir tous les besoins en eau des ménages, eu égard à ses qualités, le peu d'eau que les habitants des appartements urbains peuvent récupérer servira en priorité pour la boisson et la cuisine. Compte tenu de la qualité parfois discutable de l'eau de distribution, celle des précipitations offre une alternative crédible pour de l'eau potable de haute qualité. Au point de vue économique, c'est d'ailleurs l'usage de loin le plus rentable de cette ressource.

À ceux qui, pour différentes raisons, ont abandonné l'eau de ville comme boisson au profit des eaux en bouteille, ils trouveront ici une solution bon marché, pour disposer d’une eau potable de qualité équivalente à celle des meilleures eaux minérales du commerce, au départ de l'eau de distribution ou de l'eau de pluie, pour un prix de revient de quelques euro-centimes le litre.

Les considérations développées ici n'ont pas encore été testées dans des maisons à appartements. Les propositions sont faites sur base d'extrapolation au départ de notre expérience avec des installations familiales. Des expériences pilotes sont donc nécessaires pour tester l'adaptation du système en milieu urbain.

Pour voir des maisons en «EAUTARCIE », cliquez ici.

Pour voir le schéma général d'un système PLUVALOR, cliquer ici.

Première publication du texte de la présente page sur www.eautarcie.com : 2005

Adaptation du texte original et première publication de la présente page sur www.eautarcie.org : 2009-12-30

Mise à jour : 2016-09-26


Le système PLUVALOR en ville

Approvisionnement en eau

Une gestion durable de l’eau implique une utilisation coordonnée de toutes les sources disponibles Dans les villes où l’eau de distribution est parfois de qualité discutable, voire même médiocre, d'autres solutions peuvent être mises en place pour donner à la population – au moins pour les usages alimentaires – de l'eau potable de haute qualité. L'usage de l'eau de pluie est une des solutions, mais pas la seule, pour autant qu'on tienne compte du fait que l’eau récupérable sur les toits d’une ville n'est pas une quantité négligeable, bien que trop faible pour couvrir la totalité des besoins des ménages.

Faut-il aussi rappeler que dans un monde pollué où l’eau de bonne qualité devient rare, il faut adapter la qualité de l’eau aux usages. Nous n’avons besoin d’eau de qualité alimentaire que pour boire, ainsi que pour la cuisson et la préparation des aliments. Pour les usages non alimentaires, on pourrait utiliser une eau de qualité inoffensive qui n’est pas potable dans le sens strict du terme, mais son absorption accidentelle ne porte pas préjudice à la santé. Cette nouvelle vision de la qualité de l’eau permet une approche plus pragmatique de la gestion et surtout des économies considérables.

À notre avis, la condition préalable pour sortir de la logique de l'eau marchandise est la reprise des services de l'eau par les communes urbaines. Sa fourniture doit redevenir un service rendu à la population, sans la moindre prétention commerciale ou mercantile. La tarification doit entrer dans le cadre d'une politique cohérente environnementale et sociale. De plus, il serait souhaitable de détaxer l'eau distribuée. La taxation de cet élément vital est moralement discutable et nous entraîne vers des dérives irrationnelles, comme d’attribuer un « caractère incivique et antisocial » à la valorisation intégrale de l'eau de pluie.

De l’eau potable de haute qualité pour les pauvres

Lorsqu'on parle d'approvisionnement en eau potable, des inquiétudes apparaissent de plus en plus, concernant la qualité de l'eau de distribution. Par ailleurs, une proportion croissante de la population abandonne la consommation d'eau de ville au profit d'eaux vendues en bouteille. Cette solution onéreuse a également des impacts environnementaux non négligeables. La solution alternative conseillée par le site EAUTARCIE est l'acquisition d'un système domestique d'osmose inverse. Ici aussi, il vaut mieux se prémunir contre le mercantilisme de certains marchands d'appareils de conditionnement domestique de l'eau. Une donnée de base : dans beaucoup de cas, la qualité de l'eau filtrée par un système commercial d'osmose inverse est inversement proportionnelle au prix de l'appareil. Un bon système pour produire de l'eau de haute qualité au départ de l'eau de ville est déjà disponible pour moins de 60 €! (en septembre 2016). Lire à ce sujet le chapitre intitulé « Comment acheter un appareil à osmose inverse ».

L’eau de pluie en ville – un facteur de sauvegarde de l’environnement

Les citernes d'une ville entièrement équipée de systèmes PLUVALOR (capacité de 160 litres par m² de toit) représentent une capacité de stockage équivalent à un bassin d'orage énorme. L'eau des averses ainsi retenue, au lieu de s'engouffrer dans les égouts vers la rivière, sera relâchée au fil des usages. C'est un facteur important de régulation du régime hydrique.

Les caractéristiques du système PLUVALOR urbain

Lors de la construction d’un immeuble, on subdivisera le toit en autant de secteurs qu’il y a d’appartements [1], chaque secteur disposant de sa propre descente de gouttière et de sa citerne.

[1]
En dépit des économies d'échelle, nous déconseillons formellement l'installation d'une citerne commune à plusieurs appartements. Les méthodes de gestion de l'eau varient d'un ménage à l'autre. C'est une source de conflits. Lorsque la citerne commune est à sec, ce sera toujours « la faute de l'autre ».

La capacité (en litres) de cette citerne sera calculée en multipliant la superficie au sol du toit de captage (m²) par 160. Par exemple, un appartenant disposant d’un secteur de 15 m² de toit aura une citerne de 15x160 = 2 400 litres, soit près de 2,5 m³.

Cette citerne sera placée dans les caves ou enterrée à côté du bâtiment. L'eau de pluie ainsi récoltée sera pompée par un petit groupe hydrophore situé dans un local technique en sous-sol, avec un filtre de 25 à 35 microns suivi d'un autre d'une porosité de 10 microns. L'eau de qualité inoffensive sortant de ces filtres peut alors monter dans l'appartement par une canalisation de faible section séparée de celle de l'eau de ville. L'eau ainsi filtrée passera par une vanne située sous l’évier de la cuisine. Un système à osmose inverse raccordé à cette vanne, fournira alors l'eau potable par un robinet spécial situé à l'évier de la cuisine. Les autres robinets délivreraient de l’eau de ville. La qualité de l’eau de pluie ainsi filtrée ne cède en rien à celle des meilleures eaux minérales du commerce pour un prix de revient de l'ordre de 2 à 3 euro-centimes le litre.

On utilisera donc l’eau de pluie pour l’alimentation et la boisson (en fait l'eau que nous avalons) et l’eau de ville de moindre qualité pour les autres usages. Dans les villes où, en raison de la dégradation grave des ressources hydriques, l’eau de ville deviendrait par exemple saumâtre, au lieu d’envisager le traitement par membrane (nanofiltration [2]) de l’eau de ville, on pourrait se contenter de distribuer une eau de « qualité inoffensive » (donc légèrement saline), mais non potable, pour couvrir les besoins non alimentaires. Pour la production d’eau potable on pourrait même offrir des subsides pour les installations individuelles de filtration d’eau de pluie.

[2]
La nanofiltration est une technique qu’on utilise pour faire de l’eau potable à partir d’une ressource fortement polluée, surtout par le sel. Le prix de revient de l’eau traitée de la sorte est de l’ordre de 10 € le m³ (en 2003). Envoyer de l’eau aussi chère dans les chasses des WC n’est pas raisonnable.

Faux problèmes

J’entends souvent l’argument suivant lequel la valorisation de l’eau de pluie n’est pas intéressante en ville en raison de la pollution urbaine et de la superficie réduite des toits par habitant.

Pollution urbaine

En fait, la pollution de l’eau de pluie qui tombe à un endroit donné dépend surtout du régime des vents. Une pluie fortement polluée peut tomber dans une région exempte de pollution industrielle ou urbaine. La qualité de l’eau de pluie dans les villes n’est pas fondamentalement plus mauvaise qu’ailleurs. Dans les grandes villes en hiver, on observe une légère teneur en hydrocarbures à cause des fumées des chauffages au mazout. Lorsqu’on habite près des industries générant des poussières, les habitations aux alentours de la source de poussière récoltent de l’eau qui laisse plus de boue dans le fond de la citerne et colmate plus rapidement les filtres.

A cause de la pollution atmosphérique pendant la saison de chauffage, l'eau qui tombe sur les toits est également plus acide. La présence d'anhydride sulfureux (SO2) dans les fumées favorise la dissolution du zinc (toits et gouttières) dans l'eau de pluie. Ce phénomène est souvent mis en épingle par les scientifiques qui sont directement ou indirectement liés aux services des eaux. Il est facile de faire peur à la population en agitant le spectre de « métaux lourds » ou de « bactéries » dans l'eau de pluie. Le but inavoué de ces publications est de retarder – autant que possible – le passage à une gestion coordonnée des ressources en eau. Il faut bien défendre le monopole de la vente de l'eau potable. Les publications de ce genre ne résistent pas à une analyse scientifique objective. Heureusement, jusqu'à présent, nous n'avons jamais mesuré une concentration en zinc dans l'eau des citernes qui dépasse les normes pour l'eau potable. Même si tel était le cas, le système à osmose inverse qui fournit l'eau potable, élimine non seulement le zinc, mais tous les autres éléments indésirables de l'eau, qu'elle soit de pluie ou de distribution.

Superficie réduite des toits

C’est vrai que les 30 m² de toit par personne nécessaires [3] pour couvrir la totalité des besoins en eau (hors WC) sont rarement atteints en ville. Cependant, l’eau récoltée sur les toits urbains reste une ressource précieuse et importante. En fait, les besoins journaliers d’une personne en eau potable ne dépassent guère 3 à 5 litres. Pour récolter cette quantité, 2 à 3 m² de toit suffisent avec une capacité de stockage de 300 à 400 litres.

[3]
Cette valeur est valable avec une pluviosité annuelle de l'ordre de 800 à 900 mm. Même si on utilise l'eau de pluie dans un appartement, le raccordement du WC à l'eau de ville est la solution la plus raisonnable. Bien qu'elle soit souvent dure, l'eau de ville convient encore pour cet usage.

Ainsi, si le toit de l’appartement ne dépasse pas 3 m² par personne, on se limite à la production d’eau alimentaire (potable) à partir de l’eau de pluie. Lorsque la superficie du toit est plus grande, on peut aller plus loin dans la valorisation et produire aussi de l’eau naturellement douce pour l’hygiène personnelle et aussi pour les lessives. Ainsi on peut envisager le raccordement du chauffe-eau, de la lessiveuse ou même du lave-vaisselle au circuit d’eau de pluie, avec toutefois la possibilité de repasser à l’eau de ville en cas de sécheresse.

Pour continuer la lecture, passer à la page le système SAINECO en ville.

TOP

Accueil - Introduction - Assainissement Ecologique - La Valorisation de l'Eau de Pluie - Gestion des eaux grises - Toilettes Sèches - Eautarcie en Ville et dans le Monde - Gestion Conjointe de l'Eau et de la Biomasse - Réflexions sur les politiques de l’eau - Annexes