DeutschEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the worldEnglishEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the worldEspañolEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the worldFrançaisEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the worldMagyarEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the worldNederlandsEAUTARCIE, sustainable water management for the world
Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh
Eautarcie EAUTARCIE Eautarcie- Joseph Országh
HomepageIntroductionEcological SanitationRainwater HarvestingGreywater TreatmentDry ToiletsEautarcie Challenges WorldwideIntegrated Water and Biomass ManagementReflections on Water PoliciesSite Map - Glossary - FAQs - Downloads EAUTARCIE, Sustainable Water Management for the World
Introduction
Summary

Presentation of Joseph Országh

Curriculum vitae

About my Scientific Works

Ecological Water Consumption Practices
Search a word within the website eautarcie.org 
Loading

*In French, ‘EAU' means water, ‘AUTARCIE' means AUTARKY, or a self-sufficient system independent of outside influences: EAUTARCIE, [pronounced « Oh-tar-see »] is therefore a neologism...

The EAUTARCIE concept is one of the possible forms of ecological sanitation with a distinct feature : instead of focusing on the problems, it seeks out simple, efficient and economical solutions, at the root of the problems.  Another feature : it takes a holistic approach that examines diverse environmental impacts.

The text within this page was first published on www.eautarcie.com : in 2003

The original text has since been adapted and first published on this page at www.eautarcie.org : 2009-06-15

Last update : 2009-09-28

Joseph Országh

Photo BarréUp to his retirement on September 30th 2002, Professor Joseph ORSZÁGH was a researcher at the Université de Mons-Hainaut in Belgium. For 15 years, he represented Belgium's « Friends of the Earth » chapter on the Walloon Region Water Advisory Committee (Commission des Eaux de la Région Wallonne).

As a researcher, he distinguishes himself from others in his pragmatic approach to analyzing problems. Profoundly centered on reality, he insists on having a full understanding of a problem, always seeking out its CAUSE. By his integrity, he neglects no aspects, never foregoing scientific rigour. But mostly, he seeks simple cost accessible solutions having maximum effectiveness.

His specialty is the field of water and its management, especially in matters of water supply, utilization and pollution (and conversely, its « de-pollution » or purification), and most especially in a context of sustainable development. Even if research in the field of sustainable development has become interdisciplinary, researchers remain inherently specialized in their field, and thus generally do not have a comprehensive understanding of the problems for which Professor Országh concerns himself.

Starting from the Thomas Mann Principle, which states that « a harmful truth is better than a useful lie », he refutes pre-conceived and established thinking on water management. For him, present-day domestic wastewater purification is incompatible with the notion of sustainable development.

Proponent of rainwater harvesting for domestic reuse as drinking water, he has developed and furthered his thinking on this matter to the point that he applies it at home, while thousands of households have adopted his system for a number of years.

A pilot project was in the works for a neighbourhood development in Jehay, Belgium, which would have been based on his recommendations, not only for water supply, but also for selective wastewater management. However, the project was shelved mainly due to lobbying by wastewater sanitation corporations, in spite of the fact that:

The inhabitants of the neighbourhood would have obtained high quality water from their rainwater cistern – including for food and drink – at a ridiculously low cost when compared to the actual cost of mains water supply;

The cost savings that would have been secured by not installing a sewer system would have financed all the necessary wastewater treatment equipment;

Actual pollution of the milieu would have been totally eliminated: zero pollution, and without producing any sewage sludge;

The pressures (i.e. demand) on drinking water reserves would also have been eliminated.

The construction of this neighbourhood was not even permitted as an experiment.

Because Professor Országh's theories go against official water management policies, even when his theories have been proven experimentally and independently, he is blatantly disregarded in all official water management events.

Professor Országh has furthered his thinking to other fields that are seriously confronted with pollution problems. These include:

Intensive pig farming and the resulting liquid pig manure production,

Industrial waste (wood pallets, cardboard),

Industrial brownlands.

Here again, proposed methods are simple, efficient, and low cost, but they are systematically refused by the authorities.

«History has often shown that forerunners rarely have the privilege of being recognized by their contemporaries, often being scorned. According to some, Joseph Országh is a visionary who is well ahead of his time. On the other hand, he is misunderstood by his peers, political decision makers and even… environmentalists, who have a hard time following him. Yet, the facts often vindicate him.»

Georgette Methens-Renard

TOP

Home - Introduction - Ecological Sanitation - Rainwater Harvesting - Greywater Treatment - Dry Toilets - Challenges Worldwide - Integrated Management - Reflections on Water Policies - Site Map – Glossary – FAQs – Downloads

DeutschEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeEnglishEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeEspañolEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeFrançaisEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeMagyarEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le mondeNederlandsEAUTARCIE, la gestion durable de l'eau dans le monde
Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh Site d'information basé sur les travaux de Joseph Országh
Eautarcie EAUTARCIE Eautarcie- Joseph Országh
AccueilIntroductionAssainissement EcologiqueValorisation de l'Eau de PluieGestion des eaux grisesToilettes SèchesEautarcie en Ville et dans le Mondegestion Conjointe de l'Eau et de la BiomasseRéflexions sur les politiques de l’eauPlan du site – Lexique – FAQ – Documentation La gestion durable de l'eau dans le monde
Introduction
Résumé

Présentation de Joseph Országh

Curriculum vitae

Travaux scientifiques de Joseph Országh

Eco-consommation de l'eau

Recherche d'un terme
sur le site eautarcie.org 
Loading

Pour voir le curriculum vitae de Joseph Országh, cliquez ici.

Première publication du texte de la présente page sur www.eautarcie.com : 2003

Adaptation du texte original et première publication de la présente page sur www.eautarcie.org : 2009-09-22

Mise à jour : 2009-09-22


Joseph Országh


Jusqu'au 30 septembre 2002, la date de sa mise à la retraite, le professeur Joseph ORSZÁGH était chercheur à l'Université de Mons-Hainaut. Pendant 15 ans il a été le représentant des Amis de la Terre à la Commission des Eaux de la Région Wallonne.

C'est un chercheur qui se distingue de l'ensemble des chercheurs universitaires par le fait que, quand il considère un problème, il se veut pragmatique. Profondément ancré dans la réalité des choses, il s'attache à avoir une compréhension globale du problème et en recherche toujours la CAUSE. Son souci d'intégrité l'amène à ne faire aucune concession à la rigueur scientifique et il ne veut négliger aucun aspect. Enfin, surtout, il recherche une solution simple dont l'efficacité soit maximale pour un coût supportable.

Son domaine de prédilection est l'eau avec toute la problématique qui y est liée: son approvisionnement, son utilisation, sa pollution et son corollaire, sa dépollution. Le tout placé dans le contexte du développement durable qu'il préférerait appeler soutenable.

Si les recherches en développement durable sont multidisciplinaires, il n'en est pas moins vrai que les chercheurs sont des spécialistes qui ne peuvent considérer que le domaine de leur spécialité et n'ont par conséquent pas la perception globale du problème à laquelle le professeur Országh est particulièrement attaché.

Partant du principe de Thomas Mann suivant lequel «une vérité qui dérange est toujours préférable à un mensonge qui fait du bien», il démonte les thèses et les idées bien établies sur la gestion de l'eau. Pour lui, l'épuration des eaux usées domestiques, telle qu'elle est pratiquée actuellement, est incompatible avec le concept du développement durable.

Partisan de la récupération de l'eau de pluie et de sa consommation en tant qu'eau potable, il a développé à ce sujet une réflexion qu'il a poussée très loin et qu'il a concrétisée à son domicile. Des milliers de ménages appliquent son système depuis des années.

Un habitat groupé pilote a été conçu à Jehay en Belgique sur base de ses recommandations mais le projet a été écarté grâce à la pression des lobbies des sociétés d'épuration et cela en dépit du fait que:

les habitants de ce lotissement auraient disposé, grâce à leur citerne à eau de pluie, d'une eau de haute qualité - y compris alimentaire - pour un prix de revient dérisoire par rapport au prix actuel de l'eau de distribution

les économies réalisées par le non placement des égouts auraient permis le financement de tous les équipements d'assainissement

la pollution du milieu récepteur aurait été réduite à zéro, sans production de boues d'épuration

la pression sur les réserves d'eau potable aurait été nulle.

La construction de cet habitat groupé n'a même pas été autorisée à titre expérimental.

Parce que les théories du professeur Országh, sans cesse confirmées par les analyses de laboratoires extérieurs, vont à l'encontre de la politique actuelle en matière d'eau, il est sciemment écarté de toutes les manifestations officielles consacrées à ce sujet.

En outre, il a étendu sa réflexion à d'autres domaines fortement concernés par la pollution:

les lisiers des élevages industriels

les déchets industriels (palettes de bois et cartons d'emballage)

les friches industrielles

Ici encore, les méthodes proposées sont simples, efficaces et peu onéreuses, mais systématiquement refusées par les instances officielles.

«L'histoire l'a souvent montré : les précurseurs ont rarement le privilège d'être reconnus par leurs contemporains et sont mal aimés. Selon certains, Joseph Országh est un visionnaire qui est largement en avance sur son temps. Ce qui lui vaut l'incompréhension de ses collègues, des décideurs politiques et des…environnementalistes qui ont parfois bien du mal à le suivre. Pourtant, les faits lui donnent souvent raison.»
Georgette Methens-Renard

Pour continuer la lecture, aller à la page des À propos des travaux de Joseph Országh

TOP

Accueil - Introduction - Assainissement Ecologique - La Valorisation de l'Eau de Pluie - Gestion des eaux grises - Toilettes Sèches - Eautarcie en Ville et dans le Monde - Gestion Conjointe de l'Eau et de la Biomasse - Réflexions sur les politiques de l’eau - Annexes